Back to top



  • Afro-American Center opened on Leon Street. The University, which now provides scholarships annually to 200 minority students, recently announced the establishment of a new Afro-American Studies program at the Boston campus.
  • Ethel G. and Reuben B. Gryzmish Hall dedicated in honor of a distinguished law alumnus of the Class of 1912 and his wife.


  • First issue of The Onyx, a student newspaper designed for people of color, published.
  • John A. Volpe Hall, named in honor of former Governor of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, dedicated. Contains College of Criminal Justice, classrooms for Criminal Justice and for general University use.
  • The Board of Trustees votes to designate Gryzmish Hall and Volpe Hall as the Asa S. Knowles Center for Law and Criminal Justice.
  • Byron K. Elliott Hall dedicated in honor of the second Chairman of the Northeastern University Corporation and Board of Trustees.
  • Office of the National Commission for Cooperative Education established on the Boston campus.


  • Institute for Chemical Analysis, Applications, and Forensic Science (later the Barnett Institute) is established.
  • Property at 96 The Fenway acquired for use as a faculty center. Formerly known as the Student House, the building also provides dormitory accommodations on the upper three floors.
  • Headquarters established on the Boston campus for the Institute of Off-Campus Experience and Cooperative Education. The Institute will operate as an entity entirely separate from the University.
  • Seventy-fifth Anniversary Convocation, October 3.


  • NUPrime, Project Ujima, and Alternative Freshman Year programs implimented to help students prepare for college.
  • Norman and Helen Cahners Hall dedicated.
  • Diamond Anniversary Development Program concluded, raising of $67.8 million.
  • American Assembly of College Schools of Business accredits graduate programs in Business Administration and Professional Accounting.
  • Ford Hall Forum, oldest continuously operating public lecture series in the United States, located on campus.


  • Asa S. Knowles retires, is replaced by Kenneth Gilmore Ryder.
  • Asa Knowles becomes Chancellor of the University.
  • Master of Science Program in Forensic Chemistry approved.
  • Endowed Chair on Cooperative Education designated the Asa Smallidge Knowles Professorship of Cooperative Education.
  • Designation of Health Service Center as Dr. George Martin Lane Health Service Center.
  • First election held to determine whether a majority of the faculty favor establishing a faculty union, November 6. The voted was inconclusive.


  • Office of Community Development established to foster and strengthen Northeastern's relationship with the community.
  • John A. Curry appointed Vice President of Administration.
  • Second election held to determine faculty support for a union. The union movement is defeated, March 16.
  • Harry Allen appointed Provost.
  • Master Plan for Campus Development approved by Trustees, June 1.
  • Alternative Freshman Year Program initiated by University College.
Dana Chandler of the African-American Master Artists in Residence program in his studio, 1976.



  • University-wide honors program initiated.
  • First International Week sponsored by International Student Forum and Office of International Students.
  • Richard Astro appointed Dean of Liberal Arts.
  • Arthur Brodeur becomes first Vice President of Public Affairs.
  • Government Relations Office is established under leadership of Charles Coffin.
  • West Hall dormitory construction begins, the dormitory is later dedicated as Willis Hall in honor of Robert and Betty Willis.
  • The Executive MBA Program is initiated by the College of Business Administration.
  • Northeastern purchases the Boston Arena.


  • College of Liberal Arts becomes College of Arts & Sciences.
  • Vice President Daniel Roberts appointed Treasurer of the University.
  • Dean Melvin Mark becomes Provost.
  • Professor Karl Weiss appointed as the First Vice Provost for Research and Graduate Programs.
  • John O'Bryant appointed Vice President of Student Affairs.
  • Gerald Schumacher becomes Dean of Pharmacy.
  • Michael Meltsner appointed Dean of the School of Law.
  • John Jordan becomes Dean of University College.
  • George Harris appointed Director of Administrative Computer Services.
  • The renovated United Realty Buildings are dedicated and named to honor Dean Wilfred Lake, Professor George H. Meserve, Jr., Professor Frederick Holmes, and Professor Winthrop Nightingale.
  • The Excellence in Teaching Awards program initiated.
  • A Research and Scholarship Development fund established.
  • The Distinguished Professor Awards program established.
  • The First World Conference on Cooperative Education held at Brunel University in England.
  • Publication of Northeastern Edition begins.